FDA warns anew, expands pork import ban affected by african swine fever

Photo credit from Nikkei Asian Review (ctto)

MANILA, Philippines — The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued an advisory on July 30, that bans additional countries which suspected to be affected by the African Swine Fever (ASF) virus.

FDA has expanded the temporary ban imposed on all imported processed pork meat products to three countries and a territory that includes Hong Kong, Germany, Laos, and North Korea to prevent the ASF virus from entering the Philippines.

“As part of the efforts in preventing the entry of the African swine fever, the FDA expands the temporary ban on the importation, distribution, and sale of all processed pork meat products from these countries,” FDA officer-in-charge Enrique Domingo said.

The FDA advised the public to be cautious in buying and consuming processed pork meat products.

“Filipinos should only consume processed pork meat products that are sourced from countries other than those suspected to be affected by the virus and are registered with the FDA,” Domingo said.

In a similar advisory issued last September  2018 and March this year, the FDA issued a similar ban on 16 countries: Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Ukraine, Vietnam, and Zambia.

According to the FDA, it strictly does not allow the registration of processed pork meat products from these countries. 

Since then, the agency has stepped up its post-marketing surveillance and audit of all concerned and covered establishments to ensure compliance with the order.

The authorities have warned violators will be dealt with in accordance with the Food and Drug Administration Act of 2009, the Food Safety Act of 2013 and other pertinent laws.

Source: MSN PH

Post a Comment